VDA 5050:
The AGV standard for SAP

Standardized, cross-manufacturer communication and optimization

Management and optimization of all AGVs

If you are thinking about using multiple AGVs in your warehouse or production or are already doing so, the VDA 5050 is for you. The VDA 5050 is a standard for communication between different AGV types from all manufacturers. In this way, all vehicles can be connected to a control system via the same interface. This is also the recommended interface for new projects for the AGV module of the Flexus transport control system .

At first glance, the VDA 5050 appears to be a technical detail that should primarily be taken care of by the manufacturers of AGVs and control systems. However, there are a number of reasons why you too should educate yourself about this topic if you plan to use AGVs in your production or warehouse:

  • You can rely directly on the VDA 5050 for the design
  • You can judge whether it is worth switching to a VDA 5050 interface
  • You can estimate the effort required
  • You can check the required technical infrastructure in advance
  • You can have a say in the project and judge what Flexus consultants or AGV manufacturers tell you

In our glossary article we have described the most important details in order to explain to you what content VDA 5050 covers and what questions you will face in specific projects. In this article you will find the most important concepts explained in order to get an overview of what the VDA 5050 means for you and what we can offer you.

What advantages does the VDA 5050 offer you?

The aim of the VDA 5050 is a simplified, faster integration of AGVs into a control system. There are currently many different proprietary interfaces, which means that there is a lot of work involved in connecting an AGV type to a control system in every project. In addition, as a result, functions in the control system are rarely reused and, in the worst case, AGVs cannot be controlled and optimized across manufacturers. You have the following advantages:

Faster projects

If the AGV manufacturer also supports the VDA 5050, the technical implementation is already 95% complete on both sides. Only individual special cases have to be developed additionally.

In this way, both proof-of-concepts, small projects with one AGV type, up to large projects with hundreds of AGVs from different manufacturers can be implemented more quickly.

Integration of additional hardware and systems

A central component of the VDA 5050 is the decoupling between hardware and software via standardized interfaces. This allows you to integrate additional AGVs in later project phases with little effort.

Other systems, for example for real-time visualization or traffic monitoring, can also be integrated without making any changes to the existing system.

Standardized functionalities

In addition to standardized designations and processes, a major advantage for you is that concrete functionalities are defined.

This provides a good basis for discussions at the beginning of the project and creates clarity for all those involved as to what the minimum requirements are and what optional additions are possible.

Learn more about the VDA 5050 interface!

The perfect match

Do you have questions about VDA 5050 and our AGV control system? Our experts will be happy to advise you!

Integration of VDA 5050 in SAP

Flexus is the specialist for the integration of AGVs into a SAP landscape. Our core business for over 25 years has been to understand, optimize and explain how goods can be transported from A to B in intralogistics with SAP.

In many cases, reality is more complex than originally assumed, since intralogistic processes are often complex and individually shaped. The following challenges are just the beginning in most of our projects:

  • block storage
  • Automatic high racks
  • Multi-stage transports
  • pre-commissioning
  • Dependencies on transports from Yard Management
  • Tugger trains with tour planning

Complete integration into SAP EWM, SAP WM and SAP S/4 HANA

AGV control system VDA 5050: AGV standard interface for your SAP EWM and SAP WM

We have already encountered all of these complex SAP-specific challenges in our projects and have been able to solve them together with our customers and partners. The VDA 5050 interface from Flexus is also based on this experience and finished developments.

We offer you ready-to-use interfaces and logics that are already in productive use in order to optimally adapt all SAP processes to your AGVs. In our article on the AGV standard interface for your SAP EWM and SAP WM you will find more information on how you can use Flexus to combine and optimize both SAP MM, SAP EWM, SAP WM and non-SAP transports and distribute them to AGVs via VDA 5050.

Technical integration in SAP system landscape

Not only the procedural and functional integration in SAP plays a role, but also the technology. This aspect is often neglected before the start of the project and subsequently causes considerable additional work.

Flexus offers you a solution that runs 100% in your SAP system. This not only gives you complete control over your data, but also guarantees you can use our solution the way you see fit for as long as you want.

VDA 5050 - Data and core processes in SAP ERP, EWM and S/4HANA

Data and core processes in SAP ERP, SAP EWM or SAP S/4 HANA

VDA 5050 - Broker and interface for the SAP Cloud, BTP and S/4HANA

VDA 5050 broker and interface in the SAP Cloud, Business Technology Platform or SAP S/4 HANA

We will be glad to advise you!

Our experts will provide you with comprehensive information about our solutions and will be happy to advise you on the possibilities available in your company!

VDA 5050:
Der AGV-Standard für SAP

Standardi­sierte, hersteller­­übergreifende Kommu­nikation und Optimierung

Management und Optimierung aller AGVs

Falls Sie darüber nachdenken, mehrere AGVs in Ihrem Lager oder der Produktion einzusetzen oder dies bereits tun, ist die VDA 5050 für Sie genau richtig. Die VDA 5050 ist ein Standard zur Kommunikation verschiedenster AGV-Typen aller Hersteller. So können alle Fahrzeuge einheitlich über die gleiche Schnittstelle an ein Leitsystem angebunden werden. Auch für das AGV-Modul des FlexGuide ist dies die empfohlene Schnittstelle für neue Projekte.

Auf den ersten Blick erscheint die VDA 5050 wie ein technisches Detail, um welches sich hauptsächlich die Hersteller von AGVs und Transportleitsystemen & Staplerleitsystemen kümmern sollten. Es gibt jedoch eine Reihe an Gründen, warum auch Sie sich über dieses Thema informieren sollten, wenn Sie planen, AGVs in Ihrer Produktion oder Ihrem Lager einzusetzen:

  • Sie können bei der Konzeption direkt auf die VDA 5050 setzen
  • Sie können beurteilen, ob sich die Umstellung auf eine VDA 5050 Schnittstelle lohnt
  • Sie können benötigte Aufwände abschätzen
  • Sie können die benötigte technische Infrastruktur im Voraus überprüfen
  • Sie können im Projekt mitreden und beurteilen, was Ihnen Flexus Berater oder AGV-Hersteller erzählen

In unserem Glossarartikel haben wir die wichtigsten Details beschrieben, um Ihnen zu erläutern, welche Inhalte die VDA 5050 abdeckt und welche Fragestellungen bei konkreten Projekten auf Sie zukommen werden. In diesem Artikel finden Sie die wichtigsten Konzepte erklärt, um einen Überblick zu bekommen, was die VDA 5050 für Sie bedeutet und was wir Ihnen bieten können.

Welche Vorteile bietet Ihnen die VDA 5050?

Das Ziel der VDA 5050 ist eine vereinfachte, schnellere Integration von AGVs in ein Leitsystem. Derzeit gibt es viele verschiedene proprietäre Schnittstellen, wodurch in jedem Projekt erneut hoher Aufwand entsteht, um einen AGV-Typen an ein Leitsystem anzubinden. Hinzu kommt, dass hierdurch Funktionen im Leitsystem selten wiederverwendet werden und im schlimmsten Falls AGVs nicht herstellerübergreifend gesteuert und optimiert werden können. Folgende Vorteile bieten sich Ihnen:

Schnellere Projekte

Falls der AGV-Hersteller auch die VDA 5050 unterstützt, ist die technische Implementierung auf beiden Seiten bereits zu 95% erfolgt. Lediglich individuelle Sonderfälle müssen zusätzlich entwickelt werden.

So können sowohl Proof-Of-Concepts, kleine Projekte mit einem AGV-Typen, bis hin zu großen Projekten mit hunderten AGVs von unterschiedlichen Herstellern schneller umgesetzt werden.

Integration zusätzlicher Hardware und Systeme

Ein zentraler Bestandteil der VDA 5050 ist die Entkopplung zwischen Hardware und Software über standardisierte Schnittstellen. Somit können Sie mit geringem Aufwand in späteren Projektphasen zusätzliche AGVs mit einbinden.

Auch weitere Systeme, zum Beispiel zur Echtzeitvisualisierung oder Traffic-Überwachung, lassen sich ohne Änderungen am bestehenden System integrieren.

Standardi­sier­te Funktio­na­litä­ten

Neben standardisierten Bezeichnungen und Prozessen besteht ein großer Vorteil für Sie darin, dass konkrete Funktionalitäten definiert sind.

Dies bietet eine gute Basis zu Projektbeginn für Diskussionen und schafft Klarheit für alle Beteiligten, was Mindestanforderungen sind und welche optionalen Zusätze möglich sind.

Erfahren Sie mehr zur VDA 5050 Schnittstelle

Das perfekte Match

Sie haben Fragen zur VDA 5050 und unserem AGV-Leitsystem? Unsere Experten beraten Sie gerne!

Integration der VDA 5050 in SAP

Flexus ist der Spezialist für die Integration von AGVs in eine SAP Landschaft. Unser Kerngeschäft seit über 25 Jahren besteht darin, zu verstehen, zu optimieren und zu erklären, wie Waren in der Intralogistik mit SAP von A nach B transportiert werden können.

In vielen Fällen ist die Realität komplexer als ursprünglich angenommen, da intralogistische Prozesse oftmals komplex und individuell ausgeprägt sind. Die folgenden Herausforderungen sind in den meisten unserer Projekten nur der Anfang:

  • Blockläger
  • Automatische Hochregale
  • Mehrstufige Transporte
  • Vorkommissionierungen
  • Abhängigkeiten zu Transporten aus dem Yard Management
  • Routenzüge mit Tourplanungen

Fertige Integration in SAP EWM, SAP WM und SAP S/4 HANA

FTS Leitsystem VDA 5050: AGV Standardschnittstelle für Ihr SAP EWM und SAP WM

All diesen komplexen SAP spezifischen Herausforderungen sind wir in unseren Projekten bereits begegnet und konnten sie mit unseren Kunden und Partnern gemeinsam lösen. Auf diese Erfahrungen und fertigen Entwicklungen baut auch die VDA 5050 Schnittstelle von Flexus auf.

Wir bieten ihnen fertige und bereits produktiv eingesetzte Schnittstellen und Logiken, um sämtliche SAP Prozesse optimal an Ihre AGVs anzupassen. In unserem Artikel zur AGV-Standardschnittstelle für Ihr SAP EWM und SAP WM erhalten Sie mehr Informationen, wie Sie mit Flexus sowohl SAP MM, SAP EWM, SAP WM als auch non-SAP Transporte kombinieren, optimieren und per VDA 5050 an AGVs verteilen können.

Technische Integration in SAP System­landschaft

Nicht nur die prozessuale und funktionale Integration in SAP spielt eine Rolle, sondern auch die Technik. Oft wird dieser Aspekt vor Projektstart vernachlässigt und sorgt anschließend für erhebliche Mehraufwände.

Flexus bietet Ihnen eine Lösung, die zu 100% in Ihrem SAP System lauffähig ist. Dadurch haben sie nicht nur die vollständige Kontrolle über Ihre Daten, sondern auch die Garantie, unsere Lösung so lange auf die Art zu nutzen, wie Sie es für richtig halten.

VDA 5050 - Daten und Kernprozesse in SAP ERP, EWM und S/4HANA

Daten und Kernprozesse im SAP ERP, SAP EWM oder SAP S/4 HANA

VDA 5050 - Broker und Schnittstelle für die SAP Cloud, BTP und S/4HANA

VDA 5050 Broker und Schnittstelle in der SAP Cloud, Business Technology Platform oder SAP S/4 HANA

Kontaktformular

Wir beraten Sie gerne!

Unsere Experten informieren Sie umfänglich über unsere Lösungen und beraten Sie gerne, welche Möglichkeiten sich in Ihrem Unternehmen bieten!